An Apple a day :-) I am back folks!!!

One of my friends, a Doctor gave me a couple of really interesting facts about apples and their nutritional benefits.

I must say that I am follower of the apple cult today :-).Some really useful information is  available on google as well: 

  • One apple, on average, contains more antioxidants than a large vitamin C dose of 1,500 mg.
  • Apples are also full of phytochemicals that help with antioxidant activity, as well as in preventing cancer. 
  • The Phytonutrients contained in apples are another type of antioxidant. These assist in fighting the harmful effects of bad LDL cholesterol, which, in turn, prevents heart disease.
  •  Apples have been found to prevent or decrease the effects of osteoporosis because they contain a flavanoid called phloridzin, as well as boron. Boron is an essential trace element that increases bone density and makes bones stronger.
  • Another one of the apple nutrition facts is that they contain quercetin, which is a substance that could protect brain cells from developing Alzheimer’s disease, caused by free radical damage.
  • Apples contain pectin, which helps the digestive process, since it is a soluble fiber. One apple has the same amount of fiber that is contained in a breakfast bran cereal bowl. Also, the pectin contained in apples supplies the body with galacturonic acid, which is a substance that decreases the body’s insulin needs and, in turn, may assist in managing diabetes.

Okay , I admit I have been building this case up to hide my “Love of Fruit Cakes”…there…I said it :-).

Having said that, I just felt the fierce need to bake something fruity, decadent and full of the goodness of apples at “4 AM” today!!

So the end result was the heavenly smell of fresh baking emanating in our flat and till the corridor and all the ladies who were rushing off to work were giving me those knowing grins on my way down the lift to get into that waiting office cab.

I found this recipe on my hunt through google so sorry if I do not have the source details.Anyone can feel free to claim this as their own, though I have made changes based on ingredients that were readily available with me.

Rich Apple Cake:

  • 4 cups chopped apples
  • 2 1/4 cups sugar
  • ½ cup brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 3/4 cup oil
  • 2 beaten eggs
  • 3 cups All Purpose Flour
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/3 cup Nutralite
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped Almonds

How to Prepare:

In bowl, mix together apples, 2 cups sugar, 2 teaspoons baking soda. Let stand 45 minutes.

Add 3/4 cup oil, 2 beaten eggs, 3 cups apf, 1 teaspoon cinnamon, 2/3 teaspoons salt, and 2 teaspoons vanilla. Stir and pour into either 9 X 13 pan or 11 X 15 pan.I used two pans of 6 inch size. 

For topping, mix together 1 rounded teaspoon cinnamon, 1 cup brown sugar, and 1/4 cup sugar. Sprinkle on the dough.

Drizzle melted nutralite over topping. Top with chopped fine almond.

Bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes.

I will post pictures soon!!

 

63 thoughts on “An Apple a day :-) I am back folks!!!

  1. Winfred Bilcik

    I can just say that of a relief to get someone that actually knows what theyre speaking about on the web. You actually learn how to bring a concern to light and make it important. More and more people need to see this and appreciate this side from the story. I cant believe you are not popular as you definitely contain the gift.

  2. Hospital Panel

    Hey There. I discovered your blog the use of msn. That is a really neatly written article. I¡¦ll be sure to bookmark it and return to learn extra of your helpful info. Thank you for the post. I¡¦ll certainly return.

  3. Sharukh

    It¡¦s truly a great and helpful piece of info. I am happy that you shared this useful info with us. Please stay us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

  4. Nickole Orellana

    I uncovered your web site on yahoo and check the amount of your early articles. Continue the excellent work. Can you suggest any of websites which are related to this post and people as I am may possibly discover interesting? All the best.

  5. Monster - PowerBeats Sport headphones - Red Sale

    I precisely desired to appreciate you once again. I am not sure what I could possibly have gone through in the absence of the type of suggestions contributed by you about such a situation. It was before a very daunting difficulty for me personally, but taking note of your specialized form you managed it took me to jump over fulfillment. I will be grateful for your advice and as well , expect you really know what a powerful job you’re providing training the mediocre ones through your web blog. More than likely you haven’t come across all of us.

  6. uggs america

    I’m impressed, I have to say. Actually rarely do I encounter a weblog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you may have hit the nail on the head. Your concept is excellent; the difficulty is one thing that not enough persons are talking intelligently about. I’m very comfortable that I stumbled across this in my seek for something regarding this.

  7. Beats by Dre Pro

    I think this is one of the most important info for me. And i’m glad reading your article. But want to remark on few general things, The website style is perfect, the articles is really great : D. Good job, cheers

  8. Jacques Poynor

    I just say such a relief to discover someone who actually knows what theyre discussing on the internet. You certainly discover how to bring a worry to light and make it important. More people should see this and see why side of the story. I cant believe you aren’t very popular because you definitely have the gift.

  9. Lionel Guzzi

    Once I originally commented I clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and today each time a comment is added I recieve four emails with the same comment. Can there be any method for you to remove me from that service? Thanks!

  10. sulfate

    Please tell me that youre heading to keep this up! Its so good and so important. I cant wait to read much more from you. I just feel like you know so very much and know how to make people listen to what you might have to say. This weblog is just also cool to be missed. Excellent things, genuinely. Please, PLEASE keep it up!

  11. zapatillas air jordan

    I discovered your blog site on google and check a few of your early posts. Continue to keep up the very good operate. I just additional up your RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. Seeking forward to reading more from you later on!…

  12. Chris Cardell

    I am not positive the place you are getting your information, but good topic. I must spend a while finding out much more or understanding more. Thank you for excellent information I was on the lookout for this info for my mission.

  13. العاب جديدة

    Next time I read your site, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me up to this. After all, It was my replacement for read, but I actually thought youd have something interesting to convey. All I hear is a bunch of whining about something that you could fix in case you werent too busy seeking attention.

  14. العاب جديدة

    This could be one particular specified of the most valuable sites We have ever arrive across on this issue. In actual fact Superb. I am also a expert in this subject so I can understand your laborious operate.

  15. invest liberty reserve

    An Apple a day 🙂 I am back folks!!! Iluvgoodfood's Blog I was suggested this website by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my difficulty. You’re wonderful! Thanks! your article about An Apple a day 🙂 I am back folks!!! Iluvgoodfood's BlogBest Regards Cassetta

  16. invest liberty reserve

    An Apple a day 🙂 I am back folks!!! Iluvgoodfood's Blog I was suggested this website by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my problem. You are incredible! Thanks! your article about An Apple a day 🙂 I am back folks!!! Iluvgoodfood's BlogBest Regards Veronica

  17. Francis Brandes

    This has helped me understand something innovative. Excellent post. Continue to keep up the good job and keep on publishing more details.

  18. Elly Melby

    Nice post. I learn something more challenging on different blogs everyday. It will always be stimulating to read content from other writers and practice a little something from their store. I’d prefer to use some with the content on my blog whether you don’t mind. Natually I’ll give you a link on your web blog. Thanks for sharing.

  19. klick

    I think that is one of many most significant information personally. And i’m glad reading your article. But wanna remark on few general things, The site style is ideal, the articles is very excellent : D. Good job, cheers

  20. fruit mocking party

    Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your blog? My website is in the exact same niche as yours and my visitors would certainly benefit from a lot of the information you present here. Please let me know if this alright with you. Appreciate it!

  21. Pingback: jasa seo

Leave a Reply

