The Story of Kadhi!(Memories of Padma Pinni)

Melt In the Mouth Rajasthani Gatte ki Kadhi!!

I Just Love Kadhi πŸ™‚ I can eat kadhi Chawal 365 days a year. And, NO I am NOT talking about the special Gatte ki Kadhi,Or the Pakode ki Kadhi. I just mean the simple plain kadhi chawal.

And Predictably, Hubby and kids Hate it…So for their sake when I feel like having a Pot Ful of Kadhi..I just make the Gatte ki kadhi version so that no one complains πŸ™‚

My first experience of great tasting Majjiga Pulusu was when I was all of eight and at my Maternal Aunt’s place. I was first doubtful and then ecstatic that something so yellowish could taste soooo yummy. My pinni(Padma Pinni) was from that day my special friend for ever!!

But, when I tasted the easier to make North Indian version…I was bowled over and a changed person πŸ™‚ I still revert to the traditional Majjiga Pulusu for special occasions with Padma Pinni’s recipe though.

So, here goes…

For the Gatte:

Bengal Gram flour (Fresh)-1.5 cups
Oil-2 tsps
Red Chillie Powder-2 Tsps
Salt-To taste
Garam Masala Powder-1 tsp freshly ground
Turmeric-1/2 tsp
Amchur Powder-1/2 tsp
Warm Water-to mix

For the Kadhi:
Bengal Gram Flour-1 cup
Thick Sour curd-1/2 cup
Turmeric-1/4 tsp
Salt-to taste
Sugar-1 tsp
Ginger- 1″ piece cut in juliennes
Jeera-1/4 tsp
Mustard seeds-1/4 tsp
Jeera Powder-1/4 tsp freshly roasted and ground
Curry Leaves-8-10
Ghee-for tempering
Hing powder- to taste

Method:

For thand e gatte all you need to do is mix all the ingredients into a stiff dough with very little warm water. There are two different ways to having these gatte. One is the fried in ghee version and the other is the version I prefer…yes, STEAMED!

So, place these gattas in boiling water for about 5-8 minutes till they are just done(Not soft, but al dente). They need to first be shaped into i-2″ thick cylinders and then put in the water.

Now cut the gattas into roundels and set aside.

For the Kadhi all that needs to be done is beating the curd and all the ingredients till really creamy and setting it on a slow boil for about 20-25 minutes till the really creamy kadhi looks ready. Now add the gattes and slow boil all over again. The gattes must be just melt in the mouth soft by the time you temper it with a traditional ghee wala Chonk πŸ™‚

A hot bowl of this Kadhi on winter nights is a heaven send!!

I hope you enjoy eating this as much as I enjoyed putting this post together! Happy Kadhi Time!!

8 thoughts on “The Story of Kadhi!(Memories of Padma Pinni)

  1. Siddharth

    Wonderful !!! Looking forward to more updates from you … i hope u update the blog every other day !! B’coz i know u make something new almost everyday !

  2. Rakesh

    Hi Suja,

    I love Gatte ki Kadhi…thats the only form of kadhi I can tolerate πŸ™‚

    Thanks for being my Wife, my Life and My Valentine !

    Love
    Rakesh

Leave a Reply

