Cinnamon Prune Muffins and a First attempt at Frosting them :-)

Cinnamony delight!!

Winters have brought out the lazy side in me. The side that would rather bake at a hot oven that offers comfort than sit at my cold laptop and type out recipes.

So, SORRY about not keeping in touch and welcome to a great “winter breakfast muffin”.
I call this winter muffin as the cinnamon in it gives you a warm feeling when consumed and the prunes help you battle colds 
Also, I wanted to share my first attempt at frosting a muffin and got some not so great results with the look, but the taste made up for it…Or So I think.
Since I am feeling the beginnings of a bloggers block…here is the recipe without further ado.

Waiting to be decorated!

Ingredients:

2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup sugar(I Used Brown which gave a great colour to the muffin)
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 egg
3/4 cup milk
1/3 cup vegetable oil
½ Cup California prunes(pitted and chopped)
2 tsps Cinnamon powder

Method:

In a large bowl combine the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt. In a small bowl beat the egg, milk and oil. Pour into the dry ingredients and stir just until moistened. (Warning: If you mix too much or for too long you will get inedible leathery results.)

At this point you will add in your flavors i.e add 1/2 cup of raisins/Prunes and 1 teaspoon of cinnamon powder.
Fill greased or paper-lined muffin cups three-fourths full and bake at 400 for 18-20 minutes. This makes one dozen muffins. In my muffin tray I got 15 .

You can also adapt this for a quick bread. Pour all the batter into a greased loaf pan and bake at 400 for 45-50 minutes.
The next time I will use about 1/3 whole wheat flour and 2/3 white flour. Leave the baking time the same.

Decoration Pooooof!!

Frosting/Icing-(Cinnamon Butter Cream Icing)

1/3 C Icing Sugar
3 Tbsps Fresh Cream(Amul)
1 tsp cinnamon powder
2 Tbsp butter(Amul Lite)
Sugar Sprinkles to garnish

Method

Beat all ingrediants except the sugar sprinkles till light and fluffy and with a spatula or butter knife spread a little quantity of this cream onto each muffin. Sprinkle the sugar sprinkles and refrigerate for half an hour.

I have found that having homemade muffins and breads available, we eat hardly any processed breakfast foods. Of course, this cannot beat hot idlis or dosas but the kids prefer a muffin with a glass of milk. I frequently throw in muffins when I am cooking dinner 
I also have a mini muffin pan that I use to make muffins for snacks. The kids love these bite size muffins and beg for them when they see me making muffins. Snacking on muffins is more filling than prepackaged snacks and there are no additives and preservatives in them. So next time you reach for the boxed muffin mixes, look a little lower and grab the flour and sugar instead. Making your own has never been easier!

Please bake these super easy muffins and tell me how they came out!

P.S. I celebrated my 33rd Birthday with some very special people and some great food  So will share some photos later…and recipes will follow…

5 thoughts on “Cinnamon Prune Muffins and a First attempt at Frosting them :-)

  1. Rajitha

    mouth watering recipe :)..definitely will try the muffins….though, am not feeling courageous enough to try the frosting.. thanks to you, madam, the kids will enjoy variety in their snack boxes…

Leave a Reply

