A Slice of Heaven!!!

All you need is love. But a little chocolate now and then doesn’t hurt.” – Charles M. Schulz

A Piece of Heaven!!

I finally dragged myself to the computer to post this recipe that has given me lots and lots of appreciation and gratitude from a bunch of 6 year olds who dug into it with Gusto!!! So much so that Raimaa’s friends have started calling me…” that chocolate cake wali aunty ”

Anyways, it all started off quite harmlessly with a request from my six year (Raimaa) old’s best friend’s(Yash) mother(Ritu)!!! She asked me to bake a cake just like the one I baked for Raimaa’s Birthday!!! Now, how difficult can that be I thought (since I loved baking and have become quite okay with it(Not that I am a professional or something!!) That’s when she dropped the bombshell “Please do not make it very chocolaty as Yash doesn’t like too much chocolate” she said sweetly!!Bah…now how can I make something just lightly chocolaty when I used Milk/Sweet chocolate slabs in all my chocolate cakes and they were sooooo full of it  And to add to my woes…she said as an afterthought…”please make it eggless as it is Rakhi and we cannot consume egg Sujathaji”.
Wow, now that is a challenge a budding baker like me would dread.

But how could I break the kid’s heart by refusing?? So I reluctantly agreed!! And all of this happened the night before Rakhi!!! So here I was, with little time to decide on the recipe and a Birthday to make or Break!!

I resorted to checking with my friend, philosopher and guide in eggless baking!!! Not hubby dearest, but my Grand ma’s recipe book named “eggless baking made easy”. This book has been in the family for more than 40 years now and Maamma (As I fondly called her) wanted me to have it! So armed with a recipe that I had not tested earlier (coz I believe that cakes with eggs turn out better..) I set out to make this cake which took me less than 15 minutes of prep and 35 minutes to bake!!!

And Viola!!! It turned out to Moist, spongy and OH SOOO YUMMY  I was grinning from ear to ear and bursting with pride when my kids asked me whether I had made a secret visit to “My Pie”(The local gourmet bakery) and bought a cake instead of baking it at home.

Birthday Party

I have never frosted cakes with chocolate Ganache before and I must admit that I am a novice at decorating as well!!

But somehow , this cake turned out quite nice looking as the Ganache was manageable. Raimaas’ friend just loved it…in fact it was pretty difficult keeping his hands and tongue away from it till the actual cake cutting ceremony. Sometimes, such feedback is more satisfying than paragraphs of flowery language 

Chocolate Cake Eggless with chocolate Ganache

Ingredients:
All purpose flour – 1 1/2 cups
Sugar – 1 cup 1/4 cup
(25 grams) unsweetened cocoa powder (not Dutch-processed),

sifted 1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/3 cup (75 grams) unsalted butter, melted

1 cup (240 ml) warm water 1 tablespoon lemon juice (or vinegar)(I used regular distilled Vinegar)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract(I used Chocolate Essence)

Chocolate Frosting:

1 1/3 cups semi-sweet chocolate, chopped(those who like more sweet can use regular milk chocolate)

3/4 cup (180 ml) heavy cream (35% butterfat)(I used regular Amul Milk Cream)

1 tablespoon unsalted butter, room temperature

Decorating: I had sugar sprinkles so used them in abundance, you could try strawberries or cherries instead.

Method:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (177 degrees C) and place rack in center of oven(If you place it in the bottom rack…the outer crust will burn and the inner cake will remain uncooked .

In an ungreased 7-8 inch (20 cm) square cake pan(I used a Heart shaped cake tin), sift together the flour, sugar, sifted cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, and salt(The more you sift…the lesser would the lumps be .(Yes that’s true it is a one dish deal, so no messy clean up act after baking!)

Add the melted butter, water, lemon juice (Or Vinegar), and vanilla extract. With a fork, mix all the ingredients together until well blended.

Bake in a preheated oven for about 35 minutes, or until the cake springs back when lightly pressed and a toothpick inserted in the center of the cake comes out clean(Ensure that you do no poke too many holes that way!!).

Remove from oven and place on a wire rack to cool.

Frosting: Place the chopped chocolate in a stainless steel bowl.

Heat the cream and butter in a small saucepan over medium heat. Bring just to a boil.

Immediately pour the boiling cream over the chocolate and allow to stand for 5 minutes(this allows the chocolate to melt). Stir until smooth.

Let the ganache sit at room temperature until slightly firm (about one hour) and then beat the ganache until creamy smooth and light(You can use either a table top or hand blender).

With an spatula or knife spread the ganache over the cooled cake. A rubber spatula works pretty well 

I hope all of you will try this out and tell me how it was.

So Till the next Post…Adios Amigos!!

6 thoughts on “A Slice of Heaven!!!

    • iluvgoodfood

      Thanks Ma 🙂 The cake is pretty easy to make as you correctly pointed out and I think that you can try the same recipe in convection mode in your Micorwave by baking it for about 6-8 minutes on full power and then checking for doneness. You may want to increase the cooking time according to the doneness.

Leave a Reply

