Hello world!

Welcome to WordPress.com.ost. Edit or delete it and start blogging!

There is no sincerer Love than the Love of Food

                                                                                              ~George Bernard Shaw

I must confess right away that I don’t like food…I LOVE IT(I hope that was loud enough :-)) !!

With this confession comes the fact that I contemplate about what to cook for breakfast the night before and incidentally dream about that as well.

While dishing out tasty whole wheat or Oatmeal pancakes for the kiddies and R , I  mull over the ingredients needed for Lunchtime and while having a sumptuous lunch of Chickpeas in Saag and warm phulkas I  think of the low fat evening snack that can be made for family!!

They called me petite (read 42 kgs) 8 years ago and then changed that to healthy (read 78 kgs) in 2004 and then hopeless in 2006(read 70 kgs) to OKAY in 2010(63 kgs).

Through all the thick and thin R has been besotted by me (maybe love IS BLIND) and I have loved food.

With this BLAH allow me to share my world of sweet smells and tastes with you :-)!

Welcome to my world!!

I will start with a recipe that is my late Mother In Laws trademark that is called “Chole Saagwala”.

This is a highly nutritious and Low fat Recipe that can be had with hot rice or Phulkas.

It needs:

kabuli chana-2 cups (soaked overnight and boiled with a pinch of cooking soda)

Amaranthus-2 cups(washed thoroughly and chopped finely)

Onion-2 medium(Chopped finely)

Green Chillies-3 (as per requirement)

Methi Leaves-1 small bunch(washed thoroughly and chopped finely)

Garam Masala-1/2 tsp

turmeric-1/4 tsp

jeera powder-1 tsp

dhaniya powder-1 tsp

Amchur-1/2 tsp

Chana Masala-2 tsp

Red Chilly Powder-as per taste.

Method-

Take 2 tabspoons of oil in a kadai and heat before tipping in the onions and frying them till pink. Add 2 Tsps of Ginger Garlic paste(optional) and fry the mixture till light brown and till it smells lime it is done. Then add the methi leaves and fry for a couple of minutes.

Those of you who do not like the slight bitterness of methi can substitute it with pudina.

Add the dried masalas and fry for a couple of minutes before adding the amaranthus(thota kura) and fry for another 5 minutes.

Now, tip in the kabuli chana, add a cup of water to this gravy and pour it into a cooker. Add salt as per taste and cook till two whistles.

Serve hot with jeera rice, or plain rice or phulkas.

 

And with this I would like to declare that

” I am not a glutton- I am an explorer of food :-)”

Enjoi !!

12 thoughts on “Hello world!

  1. Nagesh

    Hi Sujatha, thanks for starting this blog! I may not be visiting you that often to enjoy the awesome dishes that you prepare, but I can atleast take a virtual ride in the delightful world of your culinary skills…:-)

  2. Annapurna

    I am so glad u started this.
    I am posting the recipe for coconut chutney which my friends simply love.
    INGREDIENTS;
    grated coconut : 1 cup
    green chillies : 5or 6
    tamarind : lemon sized
    salt : to taste
    sugar(optional): 1/2 tsp

    Seasoning ( bagar )
    urad dal : 1 tbsp
    chana dal : 1/2 tsp
    mustard seeds : 1/2 tsp
    methi seeds : a few
    red chillies : 2
    method
    Take a table spoon of oil in a small kadai and add the seasoning. When the mustard starts to splutter and the urad dal becomes brown, add the hing and turn off the gas.Let it cool and grind coarsely in a mixie or grinding stone.( My father -in- law used to hate chutney ground in a mixie) Add green chillies, softened tamarind,salt, turmeric and sugar. grind for a minute. Add the grated coconut and grind without adding any water.(the juice of fresh coconut is enough)Garnish with finely chopped coriander leaves serve with steaming hot rice and ghee or idli or dosa or pongal or……..
    I hope u try this and enjoy the taste.
    I am off to the kitchen to prepare this for tonight’s dinner.

  3. Radhika

    Hey Sujatha,

    Good to see you share your recipes. Hey how about some nice chat receipes , we are dying here for good food. Something easy to make though.

    Also, any idea of how you can feed picky eaters (like my daughter !!) healthy snacks.

    Have fun !!

    Radha akka

  4. Nagesh

    You calling me Nagesh sounds really funny, isn’t it :-)…

    Well, Ankita is learning to cook so I’m sure she can make good use of this blog…

    • iluvgoodfood

      Hey I know…Its difficult for me to comprehend if someone in family calls me sujatha(read dad and mom) instead of papa. I guess I wanted to be a bit formal on blog 🙂
      Good to know that ankita is on the job! All the best to you guys 🙂

  5. Subha

    Sujatha!! I should say that all the recipes posted are very inviting and yummy!!! Keep up the great work!! And all the BEST!!!!

Leave a Reply

